Rules for a Meaningful Life

In the course of human events patterns of behavior developed that seemed best to encourage adaptation and survival. The Aborigines in Australia learned to find water by paying attention to the plants and animals around them. They learn to secret stores of water that could be found later. The Sumerians codified some of the earliest laws that provided some order to their daily existence, though by our standards these seem quite harsh. Every civilization has rules. Even groups of two will develop rules to guide behavior.cuneiform

Rules can be quite personal as well. Over the course of several decades I found myself relying on a short set of rules that I would mentally go to for guidance and direction in the face of the vagaries of living.  These are my personal rules. Some you recognize some are my own creation.  Over the next few weeks I’ll elucidate these and expound on why they are important to me.  I’ll provide some guidance on finding your own rules in later blogs.

  1. What goes around, comes around.
  2. It doesn’t matter what anyone else does with the Gospel; it only matter what I do.
  3. The level of concern for my problem is inversely proportional to the square of the distance of the person I need to solve my problem.
  4. Life is not fair, get over it.
  5. Life is short and then you die.
  6. In all things leave people better than you find them.
Leave a Reply

